Talking Temping

This is me. Which one? I dunno- mostly the two on the ends, respectively. Dolly Parton was and is beautiful, but as far as I know, I’ve never been in a position where my boss had the hots for me. Currently, I’m the one returning to work, but I’ve also been the seasoned matron.

Today, I talked to a temp recruiter, and boy, was it ever de-humanizing! “Name your rate of pay”, (as they name a rate 4 dollars less than what you’d previously discussed), and on and on, until finally, I settle on something 2 dollars less than what I need, which I probably won’t say yes to, but it was just so awful. Bear in mind, this was the “Should we call you?” rate, not anything definite, but it still felt swarmy… that, and wanting to contact me by any means at all, at any time. What? Huh? You can try, but sometimes I might be bathing, or in the bathroom, or eating, or sleeping, you know.

So, frustration. But, things have been coming to a head in my personal life, to the point where even de-humanizing temp experiences are at least worth considering. I just hope someone calls me from something permanent first.

Leave a Reply

