More about PT, I guess.

I’ve written about PT here and there. TL;DR- I’m a fan. Sure it exhausts you, makes you sore, puts you to sleep afterwards… but, I feel it’s worth it. I just feel like, “I need this ankle for the rest of my life, therefore, it is worth putting the time in.”

Anyway, I just looked at my old regimen from the ankle-fixing shop. It is astounding to me how far I’ve come. Those exercises were done either in bed or in a wheelchair. I look at them now, and some of them seem absurd to me. ” ‘Lift your leg and hold it while you are seated.’- Are you joking? ” It’s a stark reminder of what it was like.

I apologize if it sounds like I’m bragging or talking about something everybody knows about. It’s just- this is the first time I’ve broken a bone, and it’s all so new. Nobody ever tells you these things. It was all strange to me, and the experience profoundly affected me.

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “More about PT, I guess.

  1. Every time I call my brother I remind him how far he has come. It’s easy to get frustrated by the fact that you can’t do what you did before and forget that you are doing a lot more than just after the injury 🙂 I guess it’s like working out, slow steady progress and one day you wake up and realize you can do something you couldn’t do before. I sprained my ankle back in March and it still hurts / not fully mobile and while it’s not the same scale I totally get it. You should be proud of yourself 🙂

    • You are a fantastic sister- he will remember you cheering him on, I’m certain! That’s the kind of thing everyone needs to hear, I think, because it’s just so easy to forget when you are in the middle of it.

      I think you are one of the people who would understand how much I loved things like kayaking and yoga, and how hard it was to be separated from those things.

      One thing in particular gets under my skin, exercise-wise. I used to be able to rock a squat. I could just hang out there & carry out a conversation like it was nothing. Now… not so much. I used to/naturally turn my feet outwards- they wanted them straight. It wasn’t working. I started turning them out & low & behold, it’s getting better. But with the metal plate, I wonder if it is possible to return to where I was. Doesn’t stop me from trying, though! 😉

      I’m so sorry to hear your ankle is still not back to normal. That sucks. Yes, I’d venture it’s the same feeling of frustration, perhaps even moreso because it’s a sprain and not a break.

      Thanks so much for your encouragement! 🙂

      • I get it, it’s hard to lose so much oof your hard gained fitness and not being able to do activities you used to enjoy. Are you on FB? Have your heard of Girl Gone Strong? They have a wonderful website with good info about lifting and being active. And they have an awesome FB group (I just discovered) full of supportive women. I saw some posting about injuries and getting back to their fitness. you might be able to find someone who went through it and could help you? Take care

Leave a Reply

