Plan for the day you are hit by a bus

I’m gonna getcha getcha getcha

 

In the US workforce, there’s an expression, “Plan for the day you are hit by a bus.” It means that a smart employer, and an understanding employee would know better than to make one person “indispensable”. I use quotes because none of us are indispensable. The best we can hope for is to make ourselves valuable.

So, that day when you are hit by the metaphorical bus, what happens? You are busy performing triage on the situation, meanwhile, life continues on….

All of the sudden, it is May. I was in the nursing home/rehab/I mostly called it hospital when writing about it… almost exactly TWO MONTHS. Right now, I feel as if I would no longer choose inpatient rehab. Yes, there should be a dash in that word, but the way I have it is much more appropriate.

I was treated in what is basically an old folks home. I am not that old of a folk. But, I’ve mentioned before, our healthcare works in mysterious ways. I don’t think I would make the same decision now, but understand, I was asked the question while heavily medicated post-surgery and in a hospital bed, and I did not want to burden my family.

But, on to the present… I have bills near due and possibly past due, my favorite plant is nearly gone, my rice milk sat in the fridge since March…. I’m just really overwhelmed. I decided to stop all my meds bc I am tired of it, but I am wondering if I should go back on one. But, the thing is, it is normal and natural to feel overwhelmed in a situation like this, yes? So, I don’t know.

When we last left my life, I was trying to find a job. The only interesting thing that happened on this front was that I filled out a questionnaire… I had to borrow an outdated machine to do it, but of course, I was grateful. I haven’t heard anything since then, so onward.

I am supposed to start outpatient PT in a couple of weeks. Right now, in this moment, I don’t feel like going. I am sick of Drs and hospitals and everything having to do with them.

My life in the old folks home consisted of me going to music classes to prepare for the yearly talent show. I also did arts and crafts. That part of life was sweet. I made friends and influenced no one. People said such wonderful things to me when I was leaving- that I was beautiful and kind hearted and that they will miss talking to me. I will miss this.

I am totally overwhelmed because I don’t have tons of help. GF helps, but wants me, quite rightly, to be independent. This is hard, because when we are weak, we tend to overburden those we love. I think my friends and family are sick of me being sick. GF says I have been feeling sorry for myself. I do. And I feel jealous of people who seem to have their lives together more than I do. Friends and family who are married with kids, living in houses…

So, it’s a tough day, internet friends, but your posts are a great distraction…

 

6 thoughts on “Plan for the day you are hit by a bus

  1. I’m sorry ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Getting out of the hospital is tough and it’s hard to get back to “normal” life. I’m worried at the moment about what will happen to my brother, even if he has a while to go still. I understand your gf, it’s hard being the carer for someone who is sick and maintain a relationship… But you also need some help and some TLC… It’s a shame there isn’t anyone else closer to you who can help. And it’s in these situations that I firmly believe in universal healthcare and better access to “home help” for people who get out of the hospital and need help with cleaning/cooking / whatever it may be and don’t have anyone in their lives to do it. I’m sure you will find a way through this though! Take care

    • Thanks for this ๐Ÿ™‚ I never really understood what happened with your brother, other than hopital and frere, which was enough to cause concern. I am so sorry that he is still in the hospital… without knowing exactly what is up, you have my sympathy.

      Yes, it’s been challenging to my relationship- I don’t think if GF saw this, it would hurt her feelings, because it is the truth. Between the many issues over the past few years, I’ve had a bad run. (The arm broke too, but in such a way that there is nothing to do but wait). So, she has been carrying me in many ways for years now. She has gone above and beyond. So, I feel bad when I have needs that can’t be met.

      Thanks for the encouragement. I’m sure it isn’t always super-fun to read my blog when I’m going through health stuff. It means a lot that you care.

      • My brother was hit by a car, he was in a coma for 3 weeks and woke up paralyzed on the right hand side and had major brain injury. He is recovering his mobility on his right side (thankfully) and getting better with brain injury but it’s going to be a long road.
        And yes I’m sure your GF would understand! It’s one of those unfortunate situation when the pple around you might not be able to to everything you need even when doing their best and it’s hard on any relationship. You’re due a ton of good luck and love ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Omg how awful! I’m so sorry for him! I wish him the best- what a terrible thing to overcome. I’m glad he’s progressing, though.

        Thanks for the good vibes! Every day gets easier ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I understand that, and upon reflection, there are definitely some things that just fall by the wayside- that can’t be anticipated. So, do what you can, but don’t stress too much! Hugs ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

