Tales from Surgery…

1

And now for something completely different… Here’s a list of completely random things about the hospital & surgery & life afterwards that I’ve been meaning to share:

You get the stupids. I’ve had the stupids off and on since surgery, which was now, (counts on fingers), about 6 months ago. In the beginning, it was the pain pills, but now, it’s just organically stupid. Some say it’s a menopause thing.

Extra-bonus complicated surgery means that some of the sh…tuff I went through, you will not go through. So, please don’t get scared off!

All in all, I’m glad I did it. But, yes, there were moments when I questioned it… Not really about the kid thing at the time, because honestly, as it turns out, that would’ve been pretty near impossible, but more about the amount of pain involved. Surgery hurts. A lot. Especially when you’re talking about completely opening the abdomen up and taking out a ton of stuff that doesn’t belong there.

The sad-no-kid feelings did/do come, but I kept/keep reminding myself about the above. It would have been far worse if I’d tried…

Walking was awful for a while there. There’s a reason they call it the “hysterectomy shuffle”, but the pillow against abdomen thing totally helped.

Hospital food kinda sucks. Except I really wasn’t allowed to eat much of it during the first visit. Also, because my hospital doesn’t clarify the difference between an allergy and an intolerance to their food staff, I basically was allowed to only eat about 1 or 2 items off of a 6 item menu. Good times. During the second visit, it took a minor miracle for me just to get a sandwich.

Oh, so many of my food issues cleared up once I healed from the surgery. Thank goodness! It was a tough road for awhile, there.

I don’t want to be in a shared room with a woman with her husband staying over 24/7. No one asked.

The physical therapists were so understanding. I loved them.

I don’t drink much (the gallbladder put the kebosh on that), and I don’t take medicines unless I’m in a ton of pain, so the pain medicine they gave me made me goofy. …Which at least was better than what my mood would’ve been without.

I don’t like shots in the tummy.

The first day home was so, so hard. I took three steps and needed to rest a good 15 minutes before even attempting to go any further.

Nurses are awesome.

Throat after surgery. So not right. Apparently, that was all I could talk about until they got me some throat spray. I barely remember this, but I do remember being happy I had that, since I wasn’t allowed to eat for days.

I gained all my weight back and then some. I was really enjoying being 20 pounds lighter, you guys!

I am pretty sure it was the menopause fairy that told me to eat a trayful of brownies a couple of months ago.

Hot flashes suck. It is everything you’d think it would be and more. Who knew tshirts conducted heat???

I probably should’ve stayed on my post-surgery health kick. I started eating a lot of junk food once I was able to. Lack of gallbladder problems, meet menopause. I’m sure you two will have lots of fun together.

I can’t tell you about lesexytime, (even if you wanted to know), because it hasn’t happened yet. I really don’t care that much. I think letting it happen naturally is best, and I wasn’t exactly mojo-ready. I’m not a good baseline anyway, because of technical surgery things in that region.

I’m sure I’m forgetting something, so there might be another one of these later! šŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Tales from Surgery…

  1. I wish I could give you a giant hug right now, you’ve been put through so much! I’m glad in the end it was worth it though but I bet you can’t wait until you can put “recovering” behind you.
    I kinda teared up at the kid thing, it’s such a hard thing to deal with. As for “lesexytime” I hear ya! Your mojo will come back I’m sure.
    And I get hot flushes with PMS. And if PMS is that bad for me, I think menopause will be the end of me lol

    • ((((Hugs)))), I’m really ok now. At this point, it’s mostly reflective & just trying to help the women who come after me. Thanks for getting it about the kid thing. Most days I feel like I’ve made my peace with it, but not every single day, you know? It was more like I kept putting it off and now it’s a done deal, kinda. Yeah hot flashes are the worst-yuck! You are the second person to tell me they’ve had them pre-menopause. I had brief moments, but nothing like when the post-surgery ones started. Thanks, also, about the mojo encouragement šŸ˜‰

Comments are closed.