Finding my groove again

That thing where you wake up energized and wanting to workout, but then realize you should probably try for making the bed first.

I’m on Week 7 post-surgery, for anyone who’s counting. This means I can’t actually “workout” per se, but I can do a few things around the house now. This is good, because stuff is accumulating.

I started with wiping off the craft table that’s been doubling as an eating surface. At the moment, I have snacks squished in between the arts and crafts. As far as actual crafting goes, I’ve really been taking it in bite-sized sittings. Any more than that, and I tire out.

I did make the bed solo, and I’m out of breath… so, there’s that.

I made a couple of things on the indoor grill- a hot dog and a grilled cheese sandwich, but it’s a start. The grill and its plates are still a little heavier than I’d like.

I keep thinking about yoga, which I guess is a good thing. I am trying to stretch my arms and legs without bothering my abdomen too much. So, ok, that’s not technically yoga, but it’s something. Actual yoga won’t be ok for a while, and even then, I still have to be nice to my stomach.

I would like to bike ride eventually. Think Kermit rather than Lance. Even to just sit upright and twiddle around would be great. I don’t know how my endurance will change, or if it even will, but I’d like to try.

Kayak season is here. I still have to check with the Dr. to see when it would be ok to try, but because it can get strenuous, I have to play it safe. This is so tough because kayaking is my ultimate summer activity. I usually take pictures while I’m out, so at least that can happen, as long as I don’t overdo the walking.

Medically, I still have another procedure. Whether or not this is a big deal will be figured out on the spot. I’m hoping everything’s fine. It has me a little spooked. I’ve been feeling pretty good, but it will mean being sore all over again… but I will hopefully be healthy, which is so much more important.

🙂

