Things I’ve learned about blogging

In honor of my 4th anniversary of this blog, I thought I’d get a little meta and share some things I’ve learned.

Be flexible with your vision: I started out with a very clear idea in mind- I was going to write about my food allergies. But, I found that after a while, it was more fun to post the creative ways I’ve dealt with them. Then, I realized that I didn’t have much to say in the summer, recipe-wise, so I started writing about my garden. As much as I’d like to maintain a singular vision, at this point, I’m really trying to open myself up to write about whatever inspires me.

It’s nice to properly cite: In fact, it’s one of my pet peeves. I try hard to link back to source material whenever possible. I’m old-school that way: I believe creators should get credit for their creations.

Redesigns are fun but hard: I spruced up the blog once so far, and it was harder than I’d imagined- mostly because I’m very picky about my vision. As it turned out, the redesign was in the same palette as the first version, so there’s that…

Blogging can provide a sense of community: Of course, real-life friends and family are essential, but sometimes you need to talk to someone outside of the situation. Or, maybe, you are the only one in your circle of friends with a specific hobby. Blogging, for me, has been a really nice way to talk to some cool people. Conversely, watch out for oddballs, because they pop up, too.

Blogging should be fun. I like to write, but needed an outlet where there was no pressure. Keeping the blog small, while it grew, has been helpful for me in continuing to enjoy it.

Happy writing! 🙂

6 thoughts on “Things I’ve learned about blogging

  1. I also agree with you in every way & I also love it to be blog buddies! xxx
    And also I love your tasty recipes! Cheers to many more years of fun recipes & cool writing! xx

Comments are closed.