Holiday Wrap-Up

Preparing for the holidays this year felt a little like this: 1

“Making Christmas”, from The Nightmare Before Christmas

Although I love handmade and low-cost/no-cost gifts, I usually don’t make gifts for the holidays. I’d rather surprise people than rely on my creativity to come through for me in precisely the way I expect, at precisely the right time, in order to deliver a Martha-esque experience to my loved ones.

But, this year was especially tight on the budget. While I am hopeful things improve, it was challenging for me to create something out of nothing this year. If it weren’t for my friends and family, I wouldn’t have been able to do much of anything.

So, I decided to make cookies, which I make fairly often and with good results, thereby eliminating any pressure. Here is the classic recipe, if you don’t already have it.

1

Phoebe from Friends, citing a “family recipe” for cookies.

 

My health was also wackypants this holiday season. For most of it, I felt like this line from the film, Frida:

“I feel like a rich girl with a new suitor every week. Except all of my suitors have turned into doctors.”

Of course, that was a little melodramatic of me, but it is what it is. I felt such complex feelings about dealing with my health at Xmas. On the one hand, I had the holidays to distract me from life’s more unpleasant hurdles. On the other, to be honest, it was hard getting into the holiday spirit at times.

I couldn’t really cook much. I didn’t want to write about what I was feeling. I tried to savor the moments of joy when they came, and in that respect, I think I was successful. I’d be lying if I said this was the best Xmas ever, but there were some truly joyous moments that really helped me get through the tough stuff.

New Year’s brought a welcome respite, with some quiet time shared with the one I love, and that felt exactly right. I hope you and yours found similar moments of perfection.

2

Happy New Year! 🙂

 

5 thoughts on “Holiday Wrap-Up

  1. I can relate to that. I was ill before & during Christmas, couldn’t drink any champagne or could not taste the delicious foods. I was ill in bed with a fever, for several days but also spent time with my lovely husband peter. Now, I am well again & I hope so are you! xxx

Comments are closed.