Roasted Pumpkin Seeds- First Try!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

There are a thousand ways to roast pumpkin seeds, and pretty much every way is the right way, as long as you like them when you’re finished. The recipe I used was published years ago by a friend of a friend, so I would feel bad violating the copyright, if only in spirit, by reproducing it exactly as written. But, the basic ingredients are worcestershire sauce, butter, salt, pepper, and a lot of patience.

This was a new experience for me. I have these seeds every year, but in the past, my only part in their creation was designing the jack-o-lanterns and de-gooing them. Although I don’t have it down to a science just yet, I still had a nice time working on them.

Once the seeds are de-gooed/separated, they are soaked in water. (I soaked mine overnight in Tupperware). Then, they need to be dried. I sandwiched them in between paper towels for about 3 hours. (You don’t really need to wait that long. I set them up after lunch & de-toweled them after dinner, because, you know, life…)

Once they are somewhat dry, they go into a bowl with the seasonings & sauce, while the oven preheats on low. I lined two lasagna pans with aluminum foil, spread out the seeds in one even layer & topped them with pats of butter. Once they are in, they are supposed to be checked and stirred every 15 minutes. I checked & stirred them every 30 and they were fine. They are done when they are completely crispy- not chewy.

It was a pretty successful first try. Apparently, I went a little light on the seasonings. Mine were also slightly chewy, but I still enjoyed them by the handful. I think this would probably make a nice Thanksgiving/Autumnal snack, before the Winter season is upon us.

Happy Harvest! πŸ™‚

 

2 thoughts on “Roasted Pumpkin Seeds- First Try!

Comments are closed.