Ravioli and Peppers

1

…That thing where someone brings over something yummy (in this case, peppers), but you don’t eat all of it, and it’s not really a meal all by itself.

As far as I can tell, the mixture was originally sliced bell peppers and white onions that were sauteed in a lot of olive oil. I was looking for something that would absorb the oil, while providing a little balance to the dish. I had frozen ravioli- large or small to choose from. I went with the smaller ones, based on my desire for balance. This is not all that complicated, but here goes…

 

I…

…Removed the container with the leftovers. Btw, olive oil coagulates like woah in the fridge. Some say it hurts the taste, some say it doesn’t… but so far, no one has said it can hurt you. I will tell you it looks very funky, but don’t let that deter you.

…Started up the pot of water to boil.

…Put the peppers & oil into a metal mixing bowl. (Metal conducts heat. Science!)

Once the water was boiling, I dropped in the ravioli. They took another 5 mins or so to cook.

…Strained the ravioli & then placed them on top of the peppers.

…Let them sit like that a minute while I rinsed off the pots & pans…

Which made the oil melt- more science! Then, I stirred them,

…and that was it! It didn’t require any seasoning (but feel free to jazz it up if you like, you know I skew bland!)

 

You can’t beat leftovers that turn into 4 more meals. Yum!

Enjoy! 🙂

 

4 thoughts on “Ravioli and Peppers

  1. Oh yummy, a classic Italian mixture!! Bell peppers, onions, garlic, and olive oil, YES! It is called ‘pov-roo-na’ in Piedmontese Italian. The mixture is inspiration for a whole lot of rustic Italian dishes. It is the base for ‘Italian Sausage and Pepper Sandwiches’ (not vegetarian of course) – just add more garlic and touch of ketchup or tomato paste for color and flavor! Top polenta (vegetarian, lol!) with this mixture and a bit of grated cheese and wow! Being on a heart-healthy diet I don’t overdo the olive oil in my plate, but it was a staple growing up at my house, and at my daddy’s restaurant. Great job on the mixture with ravioli because you are making my mouth water!!! Now I will be craving peppers all day!!! ❤

    • Thanks for stopping by! This one was a little on the effortless side, but I’m happy you liked it! One of these days, I will get around to doing a sausage and pepper sandwich. I’ve had the veggie version, just haven’t posted it yet. 🙂

Comments are closed.