Garden Update

1

The tomatoes are still hanging in there! I am still fending off the black spot problem, so I haven’t been able to use every tomato that has ripened. I also am still trimming infected leaves. What this means is that I basically have little tomato trees at this point, rather than bushes, but they’re still producing! All in all, it’s been fun. It’d be nice if I can get in another mini-harvest, but if not, even these last few tomatoes are more than I’d hoped for.

After I wrote this, the forecast came in. It’s looking like the frost is coming, so this might be the last hurrah!

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The marigolds are preparing for their exit with a few beautiful last-minute puffs of flowers. As I mentioned in an earlier post, I let them grow at their leisure, without too much intervention, and it’s really starting to show, now that they are on their way out. I did a little trimming after this was taken. Next year, I will probably take out the extra drainage to allow them more room to grow horizontally.

 

Happy Fall! 🙂

 

