Ground “Meat” Burrito & Sloppy Joe Shortcut

1

This is the companion to the faux chicken burrito– a “ground beef” burrito. I used another Quorn product for this one-Ā  mostly because I was trying to clean out the freezer, but also because I do genuinely like it & find it useful. I also had leftovers from the last batch of burritos. It kept things fresh enough, so I didn’t feel like I was being too repetitive. It’s also worth mentioning that this is not a sponsored post, even though there are a lot of links. I don’t get anything one way or another if you happen to try the things I had around my kitchen.

Like the chik’n recipe, this can be reverse-modified for omnivores pretty easily, though Quorn is one of those foods that seems to be popular with omnis and veggies alike. I also don’t like things very spicy, so I’d definitely recommend tasting it as you season. You can always add, but it’s much harder to take away.

The method is pretty similar. The only real difference is that I tried using water, as McCormick suggests (to adhere the seasoning). That wasn’t super-effective for me. Even though I’ve been trying to cut back on my use of oil, I preferred the oil.

 

So basically, I…

Got out a large stainless steel fry pan & coated with grapeseed oil. Turned the burner up to HIGH just to heat the oil, then back to medium, while I put the crumbles in the pan & stirred.

Sprinkled 1/3ish of the seasoning on the crumbles, added a little olive oil, and stirred.

Added in some cherry tomatoes from the garden, stirred, then turned the burner to MEDIUM/HI and stirred continuously until brown.

…and then the filling was done.

 

You don’t need a lot of filling to make these burritos, so I had plenty of leftovers. What you see above is one of several variations I made using the leftovers. For this variation, I put about 1/4 a cup of filling in a microwave-safe bowl, sliced a stick of marbled string cheese, covered everything with cling-wrap, and microwaved it for about a minute. (This will vary widely according to your specific microwave. If I was making this in an unknown oven, I’d check after 30 seconds & then decide if it needed more time or not.) This was enough for two burritos.

The lettuce is nothing exciting- just some iceberg that I happened to have left over. I sliced it with a sharp knife on a cutting board, which made it easy to deal with.

The wraps are another of my favorites, but they DID NOT stand up well to heat AT ALL. Every time I made this, the filling fell through. So, there’s that, but I do like the taste and the shape, for what it’s worth.

 

Sloppy Joe Shortcut:

This is actually a variation of the way I used to make Sloppy Joes years ago, but could never quite replicate. This way works, and can be reproduced, so here you go…

I took the leftover filling, heated it up, then stirred in some BBQ sauce.

Then, I put the mixture on some bread. Instant Sloppy Joe!

 

Enjoy! šŸ™‚

 

 

5 thoughts on “Ground “Meat” Burrito & Sloppy Joe Shortcut

  1. Looks yummy. And a great way to customize a dish using whatever is left over šŸ˜‰ When adding spices with water I usually always still use a bit of oil. And I add a bit of corn starch to make the “spicy sauce” less runny. Works great for fajitas

Comments are closed.