Fakin’ Bacon

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I was never one of those bacon-obsessed people as an omnivore. Frankly, I don’t get it, and it has nothing to do with being vegetarian. Sure, you can enjoy or even love a certain food, but to the point of obsession? Nah.

I haven’t had actual bacon in decades, and while not having a substitute was not a huge deal, it would’ve been nice when recreating certain recipes. Soy-based bacons are pretty ubiquitous in my experience. But soy-based meat substitutes do not work for me due to allergies, so I get a little touchy when soy producers try to edge Quorn out of the market. It’s one of the few substitutes I actually can eat, and not being able to find it has become a problem in recent years.

So, you can imagine my delight when gf showed up with a surprise package of Quorn bacon for me to try.  Some women like chocolates… well, I like those too… but I also like allergy-safe special treats, and this certainly qualifies.

 

Un-boxing:

They basically looked and smelled a little bit like cold-cut bologna. During the process of un-boxing and cooking the pieces, I basically came to the conclusion that they were not trying for American-style bacon. If anything, it’s vaguely similar to Canadian bacon, so let’s get that out of the way now.

 

Method 1: Indoor Grill

First, I tried grilling them on the indoor grill for about 4 minutes.

Result: Grilled bologna-type product that tastes like bacon. Not bad, but disappointing. Bacon should crunch. I decided I’d try frying the leftovers.

 

Method 2: Frying

*First, I heated up some grapeseed oil on high in a small/medium frying pan.

*Then, I fried the bacon for about 2-3 minutes total, turning them over about halfway through. I used tongs for this.

*Then, I let them de-grease using a paper towel placed on top of a plate.

*This smoked up my whole kitchen. You should know that, in case that sort of thing bothers you.

 

Conclusion:

While I did get some parts to crunch up when frying, it’s more like Canadian bacon overall. I was hoping for American-style bacon. I was hoping for the crunch. I didn’t get it.

As far as the taste goes, it did taste like bacon when fried. I did like it. It was good. It just wasn’t what I had in mind.

Based on the flexibility and taste, I’m thinking it will probably be good in a breakfast sandwich or grilled cheese. I tried it in a wrap, and it worked well in that context.

 

Note:

Obviously, I wasn’t compensated by Quorn in any way to provide my opinion. But, if they’d like to compensate me, crunchy Quorn bacon would be most welcome. 😉

 

 

