Smore Sundae First Attempt

1

This is my first attempt at a Smore Sundae. It is a fusion of both dairy and dairy-free ingredients, courtesy of my wacky intolerances. I was also trying to use up leftovers from… smores, obviously, but also a few random things I had around. There were a few kinks that I will work out in subsequent versions, but overall, it was worth sharing.

Smore Sundae 1

Ingredients:

  1. Marshmallows
  2. Graham crackers
  3. Fudge
  4. Rice Dream faux ice cream/Vanilla
  5. A dollop of chocolate spread

Method:

  • Crushed 1 cracker and placed in bottom of sundae glass
  • Microwaved 2 marshmallows at 10 seconds on high. (Be careful here, we all know how times vary!). Then, placed the goo on top of the crushed crackers.
  • Microwaved 3 pieces of homemade fudge on 20 seconds. Yeah, this really didn’t work, but whatever, in it went.
  • Then, I scooped in the faux ice cream, and repeated the steps. The dollop of spread went on the top.

Observations:

  • The marshmallows did melt, and they did spread, but once placed in, they solidified somewhat, so I was eating clumps of marshmallow. I have a marshmallow fluff recipe I’m trying next time.
    • This recipe was partially inspired by the fact that the Reddi-Whip I bought, I can’t actually eat. I learned that the hard way, but it was nothing too dramatic. There are replacements, but I’m trying to work with what’s around right now.
  • The fudge… yes, it tasted good, but no, it did not melt.
    • I was actually trying to use up some homemade fudge I received months ago.
    • I do have chocolate, and I do know how to melt chocolate properly, so that’s what’s happening next time.
      • The sharper-eyed among you should realize what’s wrong with that statement. I didn’t.
  • But, like I said, overall, it is still a win. You have no idea how wonderful it is to be able to make and eat a sundae. I haven’t done this since childhood, and it brought back all of those wonderful feelings.

Enjoy! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Smore Sundae First Attempt

Comments are closed.