Back On the Water

1

After a long, hard, winter of gazing longingly at every body of water, trying to evoke seasonal change by sheer force of will, boating season has finally arrived.

One thing I like about leisurely kayaking is that I’ve been able to do it while my weight fluctuated up, down, and all around. The same goes for my fitness level. Basically, if I can fit inside and my health is reasonably good, I can do it. Plus, you know, fresh air!

Since this is more or less a food blog, I figured I’d share with you some of the snacks I’ve packed over the years. Please note, I did not receive compensation of any kind for mentioning the products I chose. Also, keep in mind that I am not an athlete, just a person who appreciates a good snack.

I’ve always been at least slightly aware of the need for protein- hence the cheese, but what I’ve found is that with experience, I naturally migrated over to healthier foods. I can tell you that it has made a difference. Weighing less at the start of the season this year has meant that so far, it’s been easier. In the past, I’ve gained weight nearly every summer. I’m really only 5 pounds lighter than I was at the start of last season- but I am about 10 pounds from what I was at the end of the season, and that is the difference that I felt at first blush.

It is easy to see the culprits early on- overly processed food and too much junk food. But, the trend continued even as late as last year. Perhaps I was drinking too many supplements. The ones I use are food-based, rather than amino acid based, from what I remember. I tried the other kind, but ugh, acid regurge!

I also remember being ravenously hungry after a run in the past. The first few years, I would chow down when I got home, even if I’d just eaten. Then, I tried Gatorade. Then, supplements. I’ve only gone a couple of times so far this season, but I wasn’t hungry afterwards. Some of this might have to do with the fact that I don’t stay out as long. These days, I’d rather do shorter trips and be able to go back again sooner, without needing a few days’ rest for my aching muscles. There’s something to be said for learning from experience.

Snack Time:

  • I started with cheese sandwiches on white bread with potato chips. I now bring a small insulated bag with an ice block. I did not do this originally. That’s a lot of melted cheese on squished bread.
  • I still pack a little cheese, but now it’s usually string cheese or these. It keeps better, but does still melt a little.
  • I always packed plenty of water and I still do. (This goes without saying, but never drink alcohol while boating. You never know when you might need your full coordination).
  • I used to pack junk food sometimes: Devil Dogs & those little snack containers of Cheez-Its/Oreos/Chips Ahoy (which I re-used).
  • The Gatorade years.
  • Some people pack nuts. I can’t do this and would prefer that others did not. Otherwise, don’t think I’m antisocial if I won’t linger around talking to you. In place of nuts, sunflower seeds are good.
  • Protein powders. There are really only a couple that are safe for me.
    • Apparently, this one is vegan. I forgot. It *does* act as a diuretic for me, just FYI. I used to drink this every time I came home. Now, I drink it whenever I need a protein boost- certain flavors only, due to allergies.
    • This is the brand of energy powder I use, but not all of the products are safe for me. I liked using them, and brought multiple pre-filled bottles in the past. But, these also are a major diuretic for me, which can be terribly inconvenient when you are out on the water. I’m out of them right now, but this season, I will probably cut back to one drink per run.
  • Chickpea snacks. Love them. Haven’t had them in a while. I am pretty sure these are the ones I used to get.
  • I love these snap pea and lentil crisps too, but don’t take them out because they are so fragile. A solid container would work fine for them, though.
  • I’m currently going through a Triscuit and hummus phase. This is extending into the rest of my life as well. Some hummus triggers a reaction, (I’m looking at you, Sabra!), some doesn’t.
    • These are handy little travel hummus packages. I like the garlic & red pepper flavors.
  • I’ve packed apples, but don’t really like dealing with leftover apple core. In the car, this wasn’t as big a deal. I’m sure it’s just a mental thing. My new thing is baby carrots, which also work with the hummus.

Hope this gives you some ideas! Enjoy your summer! 🙂

9 thoughts on “Back On the Water

  1. great ideas 🙂 I was wondering what to pack for my lunch on the coach and you have reminded me how much I love sugar snap peas 🙂 thank you!!

    • Oh, I’m so glad this could help! 🙂 I’ve bookmarked your nut-free granola, too! Sugar snap peas are delicious. You know what else I’ve been eating raw lately? Asparagus. Such a nice, sturdy veg, perfect for traveling!

  2. Pingback: Writer’s Block | veggiewhatnow

Comments are closed.