“Meatball” Sandwiches 2

1

It’s been a while, but I finally got around to making a second round of faux meatball sandwiches. Last time, I made a giant but delicious sandwich that is 2x to 3x what I am currently eating! This time, I wanted to dial it back a notch and save some for leftovers.

 

Changes, etc. :

I used the same falafel balls.

I used tomato sauce from the jar, but added garlic powder, basil, and oregano to it.

I used some mozzarella on the first couple of sandwiches.

To make the sandwiches a reasonable size, I used leftover burger buns. These weren’t especially healthy, but they worked. I also had some leftover tortillas, which kept the carbs down for subsequent portions.

 

Method:

1. You should know that the falafel balls taste best fried. Otherwise, they can be a little dry. But, I didn’t fry them because I am trying to cut back on the amount of fried food I eat. So, I plunked them in the sauce, as seen above, and heated the sauce on medium.

2. The falafel balls will break down when saturated and stirred. I didn’t care, but you might. I just wanted the taste, protein, and a little of the texture. I have not yet thought of a way around this, but it’s something you should be aware of.

3. Melted mozzarella helped with the dryness on the first day. The leftovers were more moist, since they had more time to marinate in the sauce. For the leftovers, I just microwaved a “meatball” and sauce with a slice of cheese (or not) on it. Then, I placed it and the crumbled “meat sauce” onto the roll/tortilla and ate it. Easy-peasy!

 

Enjoy! 🙂

3 thoughts on ““Meatball” Sandwiches 2

Comments are closed.