Lowfat Lentil Soup

1

As you may know, I am a big fan of homemade soup. It is one of the few things I make without an actual recipe. This soup is my original creation, and like most unwritten recipes, it changes every time I make it.

Check out my other versions here, here, and here.

This time around, I didn’t actually set out to make a lentil soup. I was thinking more along the lines of a plain vegetable, since last time I made a soup, it contained seitan, and was thus, more stew-like. But, as I got into the groove, this one seemed to call for a little protein while still remaining light. I managed to hit on something especially good this time & wanted to share my happiness with you. This was the first soup I made that I did not eat with crackers. It was that good!

 

It contains:

celery

carrots

green onions

red potatoes

button mushroom stems

green lentils

Mrs. Dash

nutritional yeast

 

Method:

I sliced most of the vegetables at angles I found visually appealing, and mini-chopped the mushroom stems. Then, I let the vegetables boil in enough water to cover them, plus a 1/2 inch. Purists frown upon boiling soup, but it works for me. I sprinkled the nutritional yeast and Mrs. Dash to taste.

The quantities and choice of vegetables vary every time and are to my personal taste. The only thing I did differently this time was to let it sit on the stove top with a lid on low for an hour, then I left it like that another hour after I turned off the heat. This is how many people start their flavorful homemade soups, but it is not something I have typically done in the past. My soups tend to pick up flavors while in storage. But, it was absolutely worth the wait. Yum!

 

Enjoy! 🙂

3 thoughts on “Lowfat Lentil Soup

  1. I just love lentils, either in soup, as lentil loaf, or most often as a side dish with a little lemon, olive oil, sauted onion and fresh herbs.

    • Those all sound yummy! I love lentils, but only just started cooking with them recently. I’m really excited about discovering what else you can do with them!

Comments are closed.