Sort of Chik’n Salad- Lowfat!

1

I say “sort of chicken salad” because it’s not made from actual chicken, and I didn’t use mayo, but the recipe has the same essence as chicken salad, and it was good!

This is mostly my recipe, but I did loosely base it off of what I saw here. Who doesn’t know how to make chicken salad? Well, I didn’t. Not really. I had a sense of what goes into it, but needed to check on the measurements & if what I had would actually work. It did. I modified this one pretty extensively.

Modifications and Notes:

1. You see where it says 4 cups? I used 2 Quorn cutlets, because I’d already used the other two making balsamic chik’n. I think it would be better with 4, although it was still great.

2. I did not poach the faux chicken at all. Instead, I baked one patty in the oven, then microwaved the other and shredded them in the mini chopper. I wasn’t going for culinary nirvana, I just wanted lunch.

3. For the filling, I cheated a little. I had a heaping single bowlful of leftover romaine with diced celery that I was kind of over having as salad. It was fresh, but I’d already eaten tons of it. So, I chucked it in the mini-chopper to start the base.

4. After dumping that into a mixing bowl, I mini-chopped 3 carrots & added them in.

5. I had some frozen Italian parsley, so in it went. About 1/4 cup.

6. 2 green onions, sliced by hand. Into the mixing bowl they went.

7. 2 teaspoons of that prepackaged lemon juice. I like fresh lemons, didn’t have any.

8. 1 teaspoon mustard, check.

9. “Oh heck no!” to that much salt. I just sprinkled it in, to taste. 1/4 teaspoon black pepper. Mrs. Dash to taste, because yes, I use it in everything! (Not a sponsor, but wouldn’t that be cool?)

10. 1 cup nonfat Greek yogurt. Mayo tastes good. They make real and fake mayo that I can eat. If I cared that much, I could make it from scratch, even. But, Greek yogurt tastes good and is good for the digestion. I’ve been trying to cut back a little on oil/cholesterol-laden foods, so I went with the Greek yogurt. I do have a brand preference for Greek yogurt, but went with the store brand because it was cheaper.

11. I mixed it all by hand with a soup spoon, and served it plain on a kaiser roll because I was in that kind of mood. The link has some prettier ideas, if you’re up for that. It’s an omnivorous recipe, but soy bacon will work if you can eat it. I can’t, so if you have easy non-soy fake bacon ideas, please share!

All of the recipes I write about are special to me in one way or another, but I especially liked this one because it was so light, yet it retained the feel of something typically a little less healthy.  Of course, “healthy” is a subjective term, so my ideas and yours may differ, but that’s what makes the world go ’round.

Enjoy! 🙂

