Balsamic Marinaded Quorn Chik’n

1

I know I went a little heavy-handed with this marinade, but it just goes to show how yummy the recipe was.

I’ve been watching far too many cooking shows lately. I’ve noticed that many televised chicken recipes incorporate a marinade. I am trying to cut back on fats and oils, but this recipe doesn’t use that much oil, and what it does use is extra virgin olive oil.

As far as faux meat products go, my two standbys are Quorn and Field Roast. For chicken-like recipes, I stick with Quorn, and for beef-like recipes, I use Field Roast. NOTE: This is not a sponsored post. I like both product lines, and they don’t trigger my food allergies. But, both are too expensive, if you want my honest opinion.

Since this was the first time I marinaded a faux meat product, I made some mistakes. But, this marinade was flexible enough to compensate for my inexperience.  Of course, I modified it, but the modifications worked.

 

Modifications, Funny Mistakes, etc. :

1. The plastic bag thing? Yeah, do that. I ran out before making this and it really would’ve been easier to have them.

2. You see how it says 4? I used 2. This recipe makes enough for 4. Here is the product I used instead of chicken.

3. Let the marinade sink in at least overnight. I know this is a big “duh”, but I was really excited to try this recipe. So it became a sauce, but a good one.

4. Quantities: I went with 1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar, 1 teaspoon each of basil, oregano, and table Mrs. Dash (yeah, that’s a substitution). 1 Tablespoon mustard. I skipped the onion/garlic because Mrs. Dash contains onion. 1/4 evoo. Black pepper to taste. It was a little thick, so I added a tablespoon of water to thin it. It didn’t affect the taste.

5. I baked it as per the recipe, which actually worked! I was a little curious about this because the directions differ from the directions on the Quorn box. But, yum. Wow! This is a definite do-again.

 

Enjoy! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Balsamic Marinaded Quorn Chik’n

Comments are closed.