Easy Italian Sandwich

1

As you can see here, here and here, this is a riff on one of my old standbys. My biggest challenge with it has been finding the patience to let it stay in the oven long enough for the mozzarella to completely melt.

I’m still not totally there, but I’ve found that baking it instead of broiling it helps. Also, use the middle rack, not the top rack. I like the occasional burn mark on my cheese, but I realize this is not universal. Otherwise, the recipe is more or less the same. I use fresh ingredients when they’re in season. Otherwise, I use canned.

 

Ingredients:

Kaiser roll

Can of tomato paste

Sliced mozzarella

Basil

Oregano

Garlic powder

Garlic-infused olive oil spray

 

Method:

1. I use a cake pan wrapped in aluminum foil. It’s just the right size, and makes for easy cleanup.

2. I spray the aluminum foil with the olive oil. Then, set the sliced roll down.

3. I then coat each half with tomato paste, place mozzarella slices on top, & season to taste.

4. Then, I baked it in the oven at 325F for about 10 mins. These sandwiches do best when you watch them. A little crispyness can easily change into a full-on burn otherwise, and that’s no fun.

Enjoy! πŸ™‚

 

Also, today is my Three Year Anniversary with WordPress! Wow!

anniversary-2x

“Happy Anniversary with WordPress.com!”
“You registered on WordPress.com 3 years ago!
Thanks for flying with us. Keep up the good blogging!”

 

6 thoughts on “Easy Italian Sandwich

    • Thanks! πŸ™‚ Terrific! It looks like the “Related” algorithm is actually showing related things like caprese and stuffed tomatoes, if you’re interested. I can’t wait to start having tomatoes fresh from the garden again!

Comments are closed.