Potatoes Romanoff 2

1

I liked the Potatoes Romanoff recipe so much that I made them again for the holiday weekend. Here is the basic recipe. This time, I used red potatoes, a bag of fat-free mozzarella shreds, 1 cup of full fat diced cheddar, 3 green onions, fat-free sour cream, and sprinkled nutritional yeast to taste.

What I’ve found is that this time, they were a little drier. Basically, this demoted a stellar recipe into a very good recipe.

 

I have a couple of theories:

1. The fat free mozzarella shreds: To be fair to myself, I suspected as much, which is why I used the shreds as a topping, rather than in the body of the potatoes.

2. I think I used more sour cream last time: Because I had much larger potatoes, I am pretty sure I actually used 2 cups and forgot to make a note of it. I’ve since updated the original post.

 

Miscellaneous:

1. 4 small/medium red potatoes were not enough, so I ended up with a shallow casserole. Not a huge deal, but still something I want to remember for later.

2. “What’s up with the fat-free cheeses?”, you may wonder. Longtime readers will note that I use cheese in many of my recipes. Unless stated otherwise, this usually means full fat cheese. I gravitate to fatty foods if I stop actively thinking about it. So, as a stop-gap, I am mixing fat-free ingredients with my usual ingredients to offset this. This is new territory for me, so I cannot promise to stick to it in every future recipe henceforth into infinity 😉

I may do a post devoted to this topic later, I may not. But after the next post (which is on the heavier side, but delicious), there will be a series of low-fat dishes, just in time for the warmer weather. After that, who knows?

3. Serving size. I forgot that a deck of cards-sized serving of this is plenty. Despite a portion looking deceptively small, it is a very filling dish.

 

Enjoy! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Potatoes Romanoff 2

  1. You’re so good to mix fat free and full fat ingredients to lessen some of the blow. What I’ve been trying to do is substitute Greek yogurt for sour cream anytime I think I can get away with it, like for potato salad, in dressings and the like. For me, I tend to rebel against myself when I try to impose restrictions, so I find the little changes that add up and are easiest to sustain.

    • Thanks 🙂 It’s funny you mention Greek yogurt. There is another recipe in this upcoming batch where I did that instead. It’s a few weeks out, but you’ll laugh when it comes up. I haven’t tried it with this recipe yet.

      For things like sour cream and Greek yogurt, I already was getting fat free, so it’s fine. But for the hard cheeses, it was a bigger jump to try full-on, because I’m not fond of the dryness. I’m also still working through some previous purchases. That’s why, for now, mixing seemed the way to go. (Though, next week’s was a single-cheese deal, so it pretty much had to be full fat, based on what was around).

  2. Sounds delicious. Finally a recipe the scotsman might like lol it’s funny because as much as I love cheese I’m not a big fan of big amounts .pf shredded cheese when cooking

    • Thanks! 🙂 Yes, it’s definitely a hearty dish, lol. The recipe was something I found online. I hadn’t tried it before, but it sounded good, and is apparently pretty common. The only other things I really use the cheese shreds for are pizza (sometimes) and mac & cheese. Oh, and I guess, the ziti.

Comments are closed.