Baked Macaroni and Cheese

1

I made this a while ago, but just now got around to posting it. Mac & Cheese seems to fit in well with my recent comfort food theme, anyway.

*Just a little caveat to prevent confusion for my long-time readers before I begin: I still have issues with whole milk. Whether it’s an allergy, or an intolerance, or a medical issue is still to be determined. But, I was in a particularly contrary mood when I made this, so I went with the whole milk, and subsequently had problems later. I AM IN NO WAY ADVOCATING DOING THIS. It was a boneheaded move prompted by frustration, but it doesn’t mean I should deprive you of a good recipe recommendation, either.

I have a Crockpot Mac & Cheese recipe that uses dairy but no whole milk here.

This Baked Mac & Cheese recipe came from page 117 of the book, “Everyday Vegetarian Recipes”, published by Hinkler in 2011. For copyright reasons, I can’t reproduce it in its entirety, but it’s under $5 used. For overseas friends, note this book uses both Centigrade and Fahrenheit, as well as Gas Mark notations.

Below are my substitutions:

  •  I skipped the onions because, “What? No.”
  • I didn’t have breadcrumbs, so I mixed 1/4 cup cornmeal with 1/4 cup parmesan and 1/4 cup nutritional yeast. This produced too much topping, but I didn’t really mind- it was good.
  • They have it listed at a 15 minute bake time. It took 30+ minutes to bake, plus finishing it off with 5 minutes on the Broil setting to brown the top.

Enjoy! 🙂

5 thoughts on “Baked Macaroni and Cheese

  1. I’ve never known any baked pasta dish to take 15 minutes, so I’m not surprised you opted for longer, too. I’ll have to remember your substitute topping – that’s a great idea!

    • Thanks, yeah, the topping thing worked out well. I was glad. It was very yummy! 🙂 I gave the 15 minute bake time the stink-eye when I read it, but checked anyway because much of this is pre-cooked. (Pretty standard stuff). But I agree- I’d rather overdo Mac & Cheese any day than underdo it, because I like the crusty goodness.

  2. Pingback: Mac and Cheese 3 | veggiewhatnow

Comments are closed.