Yellow Cake with Chocolate Icing

2

This was the first time I recall making a cake truly from scratch. I’m sure I must have done it before, but memory fails.

So, I turned to my mixer manual again. And just for the record, I’m not being compensated to mention it. It’s just that hey, someone somewhere worked hard on that collection of starter recipes, and doesn’t everyone like to feel appreciated now and again?

For the most part, I followed the recipe word-for-word. The only major deviation was adding some granulated sugar to their Chocolate Frosting recipe, one table spoon (literally), to be exact, because I felt at the time that it needed a little something extra. But, honestly, in retrospect, I could have skipped it and been perfectly happy. After all, there’s 4 cups of confectioner’s sugar in there to begin with!

Another thing I will try a little differently next time will be to mix the cake batter a little longer. I know they said about 1 minute, and that’s what I did, but it was just a touch too dense for me. Scooping it in before baking was more like brownies than cake.

Having made countless box cakes that all taste more or less the same, it was surprising to me to not to be bonked over the head by sweetness. The best way I can describe the yellow cake itself is more like cornbread. Not bad, just different texturally and more subtle. It really speaks to the way our senses are really overwhelmed with the sweetness and uniformity of commercially produced products.

4 thoughts on “Yellow Cake with Chocolate Icing

  1. I am not a baker and, yet, I got tagged to bring a dessert for dinner on Sunday. I was going to take the easy route and bring sundae bar fixings but you may have inspired me to try a cake!

Comments are closed.