Bean and Cheese Enchiladas

1

Let me preface this post by saying that my uterus demanded bean and cheese enchiladas. (PMS). While I love these (maybe a little too much), I haven’t had them in about 2 years, and had never made them myself. Yes, I know they’re fattening. In fact I could tell you long tales of precisely how I know this information, but let’s just leave it at “yes, you can be vegetarian and overweight.”

So, this was a blast from the past for me. But, I felt really confident and proud of myself that I am in such a better place now: to realize that I can now enjoy these without having them every weekend was really a breakthrough moment. I never had an eating disorder, but I did have some really bad eating habits back in the day. To be able to allow myself to eat things that aren’t so healthy once in a while, to get it out of my system and move on… well, it’s just good.

It was fun to actually look up the recipe (mostly for quantities’ sake), to pick up the items, and to give it a whirl. So forgive me for going with the easiest route, and choosing this basic recipe. I’m certainly not advocating one brand over another in this case, but their recipe was easy and filling, as promised.

My modifications weren’t all that complicated. I obviously used vegetarian refried beans. I used 3/4 of a can of salsa, and 1 can of enchilada sauce. I skipped the onion. I used farmer’s cheese for the top, and sprinkled them with cilantro. Because I wasn’t feeling 100% while preparing them, I took advantage food chopper for the cheddar, and the “stir” setting on the mixer for the filling.

Next time, I will absolutely go for 2 cans of enchilada sauce, with salsa at the ready. And obviously, there are a thousand other ways to make enchiladas, which I might try later on to lighten them up a bit. But for now, this was perfect.

12 thoughts on “Bean and Cheese Enchiladas

Comments are closed.