Italian Rolls

1

I made Italian bread for the first time the other day. Everyone always talks about how difficult bread baking is, but I have to say, it was an enjoyable experience, probably because I tried a basic recipe. I also consulted my bread-baking partner for advice, and referred to the tips published by KitchenAid in their mixer manual.

Bread is another one of my favorite staple/comfort foods, and I was eager to try making some. In the process, I’ve learned a few things from experience that I’d only read about before, such as “baking bread is expensive”. If you buy the flour specifically intended for bread, it costs more. In fact, these two gorgeous loaves cost more than several from a baker. So, for me, bread baking is not about saving money. It’s just about the joy that comes from trying something new, and enjoying the fruits of your labor.

I followed this recipe to the letter, and I didn’t have too much trouble. My most significant misstep was getting all color-field during the glazing step. Yeah, don’t do that, no matter how tempting it is. If you don’t already know why, it’s because doing so will basically cement the rolls to the sheet. Obviously, I eventually freed them, but it’s not something I wish to repeat.

But all in all, this was a fun experience- definitely a “do-again”.

πŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “Italian Rolls

  1. Awwww yeah! Those loaves look great. I’m always surprised at how easy it is to mak your own bread. You can get so much done while its in the rising stages, and you can usually get away without too much kneading. You’re right though…it is more expensive to make your own, which seems odd. Good job!!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: Wordless Wednesday: Cheesy Bread | veggiewhatnow

Comments are closed.