So, This Is Seitan!

Seitan and Mushrooms in Fry Pan

I’ve never made seitan, though I think I’ve tried it professionally prepared. Vegan Monologue recently posted her recipe for homeade seitan, along with points about the cost of prepackaged seitan and a mention of its nutritional value. I bought some prepackaged just to be certain l Iiked it, then decided to give the recipe a try. 

.

Points I ignored which you shouldn’t:

Let it dry, even if the broth is calling to you like a siren song.

It really is enough for months. Even though the above looked pretty both in the picture and in person, you will never eat that much. Ok, *I* will never eat that much in one sitting.

Pan-frying and whatever it was I did up there with the broth are not the same thing, but it was fun and the flavor was yummy.

Seitan is chewy. Maybe it would have been less chewy if I had been more patient. If you want to try the fried flavor brothy goodness, party on, but then let it dry & fry it for real later. I liked that better than the fragrant but chewy first round.

I froze the rest, then thawed one slice, put it in the processor, fried the little seitan shreds with a dash of nutritional yeast, refrigerated it, and later made a faux cheesesteak, which I heated in the oven. (Real cheese, faux steak: I’m vegan-friendly, but vegetarian myself). I even added some ketchup for an authentic feel after the picture was taken. Good stuff!

.

Seitan Cheesesteak

.

Her recipe is perfection, but I had to change some minor details due to a combination of allergies, personal taste, & what I had around. 

.

Seitan Ingredient Modifications: 

1 tsp marjoram to Mrs. Dash

No onion powder

2 tsp garlic powder

+ a dash of nutritional yeast

+ a dash of parsley

.

Broth Ingredient Modifications: 

No soy sauce

1 teaspoon to 1 tablespoon liquid smoke

1 teaspoon Habanero Catsup

.

Prep Modifications: 

I left it as one big loaf and cut it after removing from the broth.

.

Enjoy!

7 thoughts on “So, This Is Seitan!

  1. I love seitan – as someone who was bred and more a meat-eater, seitan tastes pretty darn close to the real deal. I’ve always used the pre-made brand because homemade just seems like way too much work, but I’m definitely going to try way to see if I like it better! Thanks for sharing!

    • I never would have tried it if not for the simplicity of her recipe. It’s funny, I haven’t had an actual cheesesteak in a thousand years, but the seitan one tasted exactly how I remember them! 🙂

  2. Yay! Your seitan looks mouth-watering with all those mushrooms. You know, I made it again recently and I realized that after I mix the dough together, I squeeze out the excess moisture before adding it to the broth. Maybe that is why yours ended up too chewy the frist time? And you’re right, letting it dry is important . When it air-dries it forms a little shiny crust. Great job!! I love your seasoning ideas. Thanks for the mention! 🙂 🙂

    • Thanks so much! 🙂 You really inspired me. Thanks for posting such easy-to-follow instructions, too. I will definitely try your suggestions next time. I just got so excited because the aroma of that broth was killing me. Little shiny crust sounds awesome, so I will remember that reward the next time I’m feeling impatient. I just love your blog and I was happy to mention it! 🙂

Comments are closed.