Overnight Crockpot Oatmeal

Oatmeal in Crockpot

After some consideration, I decided to not to pursue further nutrition appointments. While I was grateful for the meeting, too many things just weren’t sitting right. For starters: “I’m a vegetarian, why are you telling me to consider eating meat?”  

In short, I just felt like I wasn’t being listened to. Though my opinion may change, I felt it was best to go with my gut. Still, the mandate to eat more protein falls within my personal goals, so I’m going to continue on that path, in my own time and with my own stride.

Oatmeal is one of my favorite breakfasts, but I rarely eat it because it requires effort in the morning. I tried instant, and it’s good, if you don’t mind flakes in hot water. First thing in the morning, I don’t have the presence of mind to let it set. Which, is sad, I know, but know thyself…

I’ve done eggs on weekends or prepped them, but how many eggs can one woman eat? Boxed cereal tastes fine to me, but isn’t really protein-rich, nor particularly healthy. Oatmeal. The perfect solution. So, I looked it up. I have no connection to this writer, nor am I a regular reader there.

This is quite possibly the easiest recipe ever. Just remember to buy STEEL-CUT OATS and you’re good to go. I have a 3 quart crock and it worked fine. I didn’t add the fruit- just oatmeal and a dash of salt, follow directions, and wake up to warm fuzzies. Though, I did add a few fresh blueberries after the fact, and that was pretty yummy. I did not eat the crusty parts on the side & would not recommend them. This picture was taken after an 8 hour cook time. With the 7 hour, you end up with a creamier version and more usable food. After the first batch, I refrigerated it and microwaved each 1 cup serving for a minute. That worked perfectly.

(Note: the picture was taken after it had cooled down, because I don’t have the presence of mind to take a picture in the morning, either!;)

Enjoy!

7 thoughts on “Overnight Crockpot Oatmeal

  1. I am having a similar situation with my doctor, it’s so frustrating isn’t it, when people refuse to really listen to you?

    I’ve never made oats in a crock pot before! I should probably try it out, seems so easy and I do love my oats.

  2. Oats are the best! I usually cook my steel cut oats in the evening (a couple of portion at once) and then either add fruits in the morning, or warm up a portion…
    It can be so frustrating when your doc won’t listen to you! Good luck 🙂
    (PS: My wordpress reader is not working properly and I have been missing on all your posts 😦 I’m so glad you stopped by my blog again)

  3. Pingback: Sunday Stuff « veggiewhatnow

Comments are closed.