Crock Pot Mac & Cheese

Macaroni and Cheese in Crock Pot

I can’t even tell you the last time I had mac & cheese. I tried making it in the fall, but the result tasted like some sort of Italianesque appetizer hybrid. There was cheese, there were noodles, there was also a combination of seasonings that combined together form “Italian”, kind of like Voltron or the Power Rangers form… you know what, nevermind.

…I got a slow cooker. Finally. I’ve never cooked with a slow cooker before, but have been looking forward to it for ages. I decided to make mac & cheese because I only had ingredients for mac & cheese. I chose the recipe that best matched what I had around, but I still ended up modifying it.

It’s really hard to make mac & cheese without milk or soy, so you can imagine how pleased I was to have finally figured something out!Β Here’s the base: Carla Hall’s Slow Cooker Mac & Cheese – the chew – ABC, and below are the modifications I made. I’ve never seen this show. My mac does not look or taste like Carla Hall’s. The most obvious visual difference is that mine is creamy (out of the crock) and hers, you can slice. Mine is also bland by design.Β (Though, she is a famous chef and I’m not, so maybe you’ll like hers better). It was super easy & responded well to my mods, so I was happy!

.

Crock Pot Mac & Cheese

Tool Modifications:

Measuring cup to 80s Garfield mug from fast food place.

(I literally did 2 cups & so forth. Why? Why not?)

No measuring spoons. Instead, a soup spoon, which I used to mash the cream cheese & for the mayo. Most things were just eyeballed.

Wisk to large knife because it was there. I have a wisk. I did not use the wisk.

.

Ingredient Modifications:

Pepperjack to Muenster & Cheddar

Half & Half to Rice Dream Original

Paprika to Nutritional Yeast

Cayenne Pepper to a dash of red pepper flakes

Added one circle around the bowl of nutritional yeast (after the above mod)

Added a little less than one soup spoon of soy-free vegan mayo

Added more rice dream & shredded cheese by instinct, trying to get it to look like it would produce mac & cheese. (Sorry this isn’t more helpful, but hopefully we all know what mac & cheese ought to look like.)

I didn’t mix it up the way she suggests. Instead, I mixed it all in the bowl, then poured it into the crock pot. Her way sounds better.

Sprinkled with black pepper to serve

.

Cooking Tips:

* Start the pasta prep first while you do everything else.

*I set the crock pot to LOW for 4 hours, but the center could have easily gone longer. The center was creamy, but the edges crusted over. After 4 hours, I ate some & stored the rest.

* My crock is 3 quarts. Hall doesn’t really address the size of the crock in her version.

* This became more solid after refrigeration. For this reason, I liked the leftovers better!

Enjoy!

20 thoughts on “Crock Pot Mac & Cheese

    • I really loved this- I’ve been eating the leftovers all week! It was so nice to have the first thing I made in the crockpot turn out well. Gluten-free would also be cool!

  1. What a fun idea! I need to start using the slowcooker as an alternative to the grill- since the oven is NOT an option right now, with this weather!

  2. I am obsessed with my crock pot. I never even had one until recently! I started making my own black beans and “refried” beans in the crockpot and they are amazing. And so cheap!! This recipe looks amazing, thanks for sharing!

  3. Pingback: What I Ate {Last} Wednesday « veggiewhatnow

Comments are closed.