Spicy Scrambled Eggs and Stuff

Scrambled Eggs in Fry Pan

It turns out I can eat scrambled eggs. Who knew?

After trying the egg white sandwich, I felt brave enough to make my own scrambled eggs, but my version uses more cheese. Though I’ve technically been lacto-ovo for years, mostly, the eggs have just been in baked or processed goods and the dairy was just cheese & processed goods. I used to like scrambled eggs, but after years of going without, the concept presented a challenge. I tried them again because I was told to, but as it turns out, I still like them. With cheese.

I was told to incorporate eggs for protein. I used to be better at this sort of thing. Between allergies and life, I decided not to care about it for a while. But, you can only do that for so long before your body gives you a heads-up. Now, I’m trying to care about protein again, but it’s challenging. I’d prefer to stick to vegetable sources as much as possible, but until I have a clearer understanding of my options, I’m starting off with the recommendations I was given, which fall within the lacto-ovo diet. I can’t say I haven’t thought about stopping before I even begin. Change can be difficult, especially in the midst of more change. Can’t I just sit in the corner and eat my pasta? Please?

It turns out my favorite foods are a little carb-tastic. Not like I didn’t know this… but, you know how it is. I will always love Italian food. I just need to find other dishes to love, too.

Then, there’s the whole weight/exercise issue, which sent me into the fetal position for a few days while I sorted myself out. I have trouble wrapping my head around walking for fitness. I just do. It’s a mental block- one that’s easily removed, but in the midst of change, I am really looking for something familiar to cling to. So, in place of walking, I’ve been vigorously cleaning. This makes every muscle sore, so I can only assume it is a good beginning. Plus, you can admire the results immediately. The day before, I rode a stationary bike for 3 songs, and I am looking forward to the 4th, which is a favorite. This is a big step, considering how long it’s been. I want to start lifting my little handweights again, but thought I’d save that for another day.

I also started using a food tracker that produces reports. The reports have helped me visualize exactly what I’m getting from my choices. I’ve only been at it seriously for two days, so I don’t have much to say about this yet.

So… progress. Nothing earth-shattering, but a few satisfying baby steps towards a larger goal.

Here’s the scrambled egg recipe. It was pretty basic, but very tasty!

.

Spicy Scrambled Eggs:

Ingredients: 

3 Eggs

Diced Green Bell Pepper: About a cup

Shredded Monterey Jack with Jalepeno pepper flakes: About a cup

Olive Oil Spray

.

Directions:

1. Spray the fry pan.

2. Crack open eggs & place in pan.

3. Add in other ingredients. Wisk.

4. Fry them & stir until they’re done.

5. Serve. (This made about 2 servings).

.

*Caliente!*  Enjoy!

7 thoughts on “Spicy Scrambled Eggs and Stuff

  1. Eggs were what I missed the most when I was a vegan. Do you like frittatas or quiches? They both have eggs AND cheese, which seems to be up your alley.

    Now I’m not a huge dairy fan, but Greek yogurt actually packs a huge protein punch. Stay healthy =D

    • Good question. I don’t know what a frittata is, but I can use my google-fu on that. I used to like quiches, manymany moons ago, but haven’t tried them in awhile. That could be fun!

      I have allergy/stomach weirdness with milk and ice cream. Possibly yogurt, but that’s another thing I’m supposed to check on, so I may take you up on that suggestion- thanks! 🙂

    • Somehow, I missed this comment back when you posted it. But, spinach quiche sounds so good! I just have to sub out the milk for rice milk. If you decide to post that deliciousness, be sure to let me know so I can give it a whirl! 🙂

Comments are closed.