Ugly Leaf Caprese

Caprese

Have you ever bought a bushel of basil, only to find that about half the leaves aren’t so visually appealing? Here’s something quick & easy to do with them! Caprese.

I. Love. Caprese. I know I just said that about eggplant parm a few posts back, but oh, caprese… caprese is my summer love. It’s close enough to summer, isn’t it? Easy, quick, tasty- really, what’s not to love?

Ugly Leaf Caprese:

Tools:

Bowl

Food chopper

Spoon

Cutting board & knife

Storage container

.

Ingredients: 

Basil

Mozzarella

Garlic Powder

Ground Black Pepper

Plum Tomatoes

Dried Oregano

Extra Virgin Olive Oil

.

Directions: 

1. Line the bottom of your bowl with garlic powder and dried oregano to taste.

2. Remove basil from stem & wash. Chop in processor. Place in bowl. Stir.

3. Dice mozzarella. Place in bowl. Stir.

4. Dice tomatoes, taking out the tomato guts & doing with them as you will. Place tomatoes in bowl. Stir.

5. Add some olive oil. Stir.

6. Add a dash of ground black pepper. Stir.

7. Add garlic powder again (to taste). Stir.

8. Place in storage container & refrigerate. The garlic, etc. will soak in. However, the oil will become partially solid. Take out & let warm to room temp & stir before serving. Enjoy!

5 thoughts on “Ugly Leaf Caprese

  1. I like! Smart use of the yuck leaves. I usually only need about half of the basil I buy, and then I’m stuck feeling sad about wilting leaves.

    • Thanks! That’s exactly how I felt. Basil smells and tastes so amazing, you hate to waste any, but the wilted leaves aren’t really the nicest to work with.

  2. Pingback: Veggie’s Virtual Vegan Salad « veggiewhatnow

Comments are closed.