Puréed Eggplant Parm

Eggplant Parm

I LOVE eggplant parm. I think it was first vegetarian meal I was exposed to. When I go out to eat, there is a good chance that I will be having eggplant parm. (Many Italian-American dishes are safe for me, and I strongly favor Italian restaurants for that reason.)

I’ve only been making eggplant parm for the past couple of years, though. It always seemed too complicated for me: peeling, salting, breading- who has the time? I’ve been finding little tricks to make it easier, but I’ve accepted that certain elements are necessary if I want to replicate the taste I so love.

Some versions have been successful. Others, less so. I recently came up with this version when looking for an excuse to play with the processor. So far, I’ve made it only once. I apologize in advance for not remembering all of the specifics, but the fun of this, (at least for me), is the individual stamp of each preparation of the dish. I did not break this into two days for any particular reason. It was just that I had the eggplant on hand on a day I wasn’t craving it, and was trying to extend its usability by prepping & freezing it. Then, I got the processor, and just happened to be craving eggplant at the same time.

Puréed Eggplant Parm:

Tools:

Corningware: This a medium sized dish that yields a little over two servings.

Oven

Olive Oil Spray

Freezable storage container

Freezer

Fry pan

Food Processor

Cheese Grater

Freezer

Cutting Board

Large microwaveable bowl

Ingredients:

Eggplant

Olive Oil in a bottle

Italian Bread Crumbs

Garlic Powder

Oregano

Basil

Romano

Nutritional yeast

Smoked Gouda block

Mozzarella block

Day 1:

1. Cube the eggplant by using a knife and a cutting board. Shake a little garlic on top. If you want to do it right: peel the skin, shake sea salt on top & wait an hour or so.

2. Spray the pan with olive oil.

3. Fry the eggplant in bottled olive oil.

4? (I may have sprinkled some garlic powder in here)

5. When done, freeze eggplant in storage container.

Day 2:

1. Heat oven to 350 degrees.

2. Put eggplant in large microwaveable bowl. Thaw in microwave.

3. Put eggplant in food processor. Make mush.

4. Spray corning with olive oil.

5. Line pan with thin layer of eggplant.

6? (Did I add basil, oregano, and garlic on that layer? Possibly…)

7. Add a thin layer of bread crumbs on top of it.

8. Grate some mozzarella. Add a layer of mozzarella.

9. Repeat this pattern: eggplant mush, bread crumbs, cheese, until you are on the last layer of cheese. Add some romano and nutritional yeast to the top layer, along with basil, oregano, garlic, and a pinch of shredded gouda.

10. Bake at 350 for about 20 minutes or so, keeping an eye on it.

 
Check to make sure it’s cooked all the way through, add leftover shredded cheese to the top, and enjoy!
6 thoughts on “Puréed Eggplant Parm

    • Exactly. Standard eggplant parm is a delicious, but exhausting, dish… (or maybe, I’m just lazy)… Either way, thanks! I was really happy with it 🙂 Let me know if you dream up a vegan version before I do!

  1. I am vegan so instead of cheese, I make a “cheesy sauce” with nutritional yeast flakes, mustard, flour, soy milk and ground cashews. Love me some eggplant parm! 🙂

    • That sounds great! Too bad I’m allergic to a couple of the key ingredients 😦 Though, I might be able to play around with it. It sounds like it might also work with mac & cheese and chips & dip. Fun fun!

      I don’t have a vegan version yet and I want one! I have a few ideas, but a few labels I need to check first. I just discovered the nutritional yeast about a year ago & now I can’t live without it! 🙂

  2. Pingback: afternoon popcorn snack

  3. Pingback: Ugly Leaf Caprese « veggiewhatnow

Comments are closed.