Food Allergies Are Not Fun

While I intend to focus on the growth I’ve experienced within these dietary limitations, it goes without saying that living with what is essentially a medical condition is not fun. It’s different for everyone, and even in one person, different foods can provoke different reactions at different times. I am not a doctor. I cannot diagnose your food allergies for you, and I am not qualified to dispense medical advice. If you think you might have a food allergy, talk to an expert. I can only tell you what it’s like for me.

I found out the hard way. Recalling minor reactions as a child without understanding their seriousness, I ate something I shouldn’t have, and experienced severe anaphylactic shock. In this case, I knew the cause, and I told my friends and family.

The following encounters have occurred since then:

I was invited to visit. The host ate my trigger right next to me.

At a party, my trigger was on the buffet table, and everyone else was eating it.

I was part of a wedding party. There were foods on the table containing my trigger, which were not labeled. I ate them and experienced an immediate reaction.

So, understand that while you, yourself may be fully aware of which foods to avoid, others may not be. Even when you take the time to explain, there will always be those who don’t care or don’t grasp the severity of your situation. Seek medical counsel regarding the best precautions for your safety. For me, this has been indispensable.

2 thoughts on “Food Allergies Are Not Fun

  1. I developed a food allergy recently (I’m 34), and it’s been scary to think of all the things I now have to think about when eating pretty much anywhere these days. And people DON’T get it – or realize how serious it could be.

    • It does make things challenging, for sure. All I can say is, for every negative experience (and there are plenty!), I’ve been lucky enough to have several positive experiences follow. I wish you the same. Thanks for the follow! 🙂

Comments are closed.